Click here to view an article on the evolution of the state champion.

Elbert County - 1995  State Champion GHSA  AA

AA ELBERT COUNTY (14-1) Coach: T. McFerrin; key players: Ken Hardman RB (all-state), Sid Smith LB (all-state), Ed Moss OL (all-state), Jimmy Watkins RB (honorable mention)
Sept. 1 Monroe Area 28-21 W H team ranked #1
Sept. 8 Gainesville 33-0 W H Watkins 115 on 7 and 3 TD
Sept. 22 Belton SC 27-0 W A
Sept. 29 Wash-Wilkes 6-14 L H W-W ranked #14, Elbert falls to #12
Oct. 6 Hancock Cent. 39-0 W A Pepperell is new #1
Oct. 13 Wilkinson Co. 51-0 W H
Oct. 20 Harlem 48-0 W A Hardman 2 TD
Oct. 27 Morgan Co. 13-7 W H to #9
Nov. 3 Washington Co. 14-0 W A Wash Co. ranked #12
Nov. 10 Greene-Taliaferro 19-14 W A
Nov. 17 Washington Co. 20-13 W H
Nov. 24 Pierce Co. 42-0 W A Hardman 132 on 10 and 3 TD, to #7
Dec. 1 Americus 23-7 W H Watkins 201 yards and 2 TD
Dec. 9 Lovett 21-14 W Dome Hardman game-winning TD with 3:47 to go
Dec. 16 Wash-Wilkes 27-0 W A

1. Elbert Co. 14-1
2. Wash-Wilkes 13-2 (beat Greene-Tal 35-8, Jeff Davis 14-13, Dodge Co. 21-7, and Cartersville 29-13)
3. Lovett 12-2 (beat Avondale 34-0, West Hall 14-13, and Crim 35-7; lost to Elbert Co. 21-14)
4. Cartersville 11-3 (beat Villa Rica 21-7, Harper-Archer 35-27, and Fannin Co. 31-12; lost to W-W)
5. Crim 10-1 (beat Carrollton and lost to Lovett 35-7)
6. Dodge Co. 11-2 (beat Bleckley Co. 26-0 and Sumter Co. 39-26; lost to Wash-Wilkes 21-7)
7. Fannin Co. 12-1 (beat Franklin Co. 15-12 and N. Clayton 17-6; lost to Cartersville 31-12)
8. Americus 9-3-1 (beat Randolph-Clay 28-6 and Mary Persons 27-14; lost to Elbert Co. 23-7)
9. Mary Persons 10-2 (beat West Laurens 42-12 and lost to Americus 27-14)
10. Carrollton 10-2 (beat Pepperell 14-10 and lost to Crim)
11. Early Co. 10-1 (lost to Sumter Co. 13-9)
12. Pepperell 8-3 (lost to Carrollton 14-10)
13. Pierce Co. 9-3 (beat Screven Co. 28-21 and lost to Elbert Co. 42-0)
14. Screven Co. 9-2 (lost to Pierce Co. 28-21)
15. Randolph-Clay 8-3 (lost to Americus 28-6)

AJC All-State: Chris Johnson (Americus QB, Offensive Player of the Year, 261/358 for 2505 yards and 26 TD), Sid Smith (Elbert Co. LB, Defensive Player of the Year), Audrell Grace (Screven Co. RB), Ken Hardman (Elbert Co. RB), Ed Wilder (Wash-Wilkes RB), Demond Williams (Mitchell-Baker WR), John Wilson (Americus WR), Ed Moss (Elbert Co. OL), Michael Thrower (Carrollton OL), Jim Dudley (Darlington OL), John McGarvey (West Hall OL), Kenric Lott (Pierce Co. OL), Ross McAllister (Lovett DL), Tyler Webb (Randolph-Clay DL), Chris Rider (Johnson-Gainesville DL), Brian Smith (Pepperell LB), Chris Edwards (Washington Co. LB), Shannon Wadley (Swainsboro LB), Carleton Bexley (Carrollton LB), Charlie Walker (Mary Persons DB), Jeff Hunnicutt (Pepperell DB), William McGee (Sumter Co. DB), Brian Kovach (Johnson-Gainesville K), Bernard Welborn (Wash-Wilkes P), Frank Bailey (Crim KR)


Georgia House of Representatives - 1995/1996 Sessions

HR 790 - Elbert Co Blue Devils high school football team; invite to House

Page Numbers - 1/ 2
Prev Bill Next Bill Bill Summary Bill List Disclaimer
1. McCall  90th

House Comm: Rules / Senate Comm: / House Vote: Yeas Nays Senate Vote: Yeas Nays ---------------------------------------- House Action Senate ---------------------------------------- 1/11/96 Read 1st Time 1/22/96 Favorably Reported 1/22/96 Passed/Adopted ---------------------------------------- Code Sections amended:
HR 790 LC 24 0272 A RESOLUTION 1- 1 To commend the Elbert County Blue Devils high school 1- 2 football team and to invite members of the team and Coach T. 1- 3 S. McFarrin to appear before the House of Representatives; 1- 4 and for other purposes. 1- 5 WHEREAS, the Elbert County Blue Devils, through a rare 1- 6 combination of hard work, determination, and talent, won the 1- 7 1995 AA state football championship; and 1- 8 WHEREAS, the Blue Devils, with a 14-1 record in their 1- 9 championship season, broke an amazing six school records: 1-10 most wins, 14; most shutouts, 8; longest winning streak, 11; 1-11 most points scored, 421; most rushing yards, 3,984; and most 1-12 yards total offense, 4,533; and 1-13 WHEREAS, despite such prodigious production by the offense 1-14 and special teams, it was the members of the defensive unit 1-15 of the Blue Devils who provided the stopping power necessary 1-16 to lead the Blue Devils to the state championship by only 1-17 allowing their opponent an average of six points, 82 yards 1-18 rushing, and 40 yards passing per game; and 1-19 WHEREAS, three members of the peerless Blue Devils received 1-20 All State honors for their inspiring performance throughout 1-21 the 1995 season: Ed Moss, Sid Smith, and Ken Hardman; and 1-22 WHEREAS, such excellence requires a dedicated and gifted 1-23 coaching staff as well as team spirit, which the Blue Devils 1-24 were blessed with during their charmed 1995 season; and 1-25 WHEREAS, Coach T. S. McFarrin received the AA Coach of the 1-26 Year Award from the Atlanta Journal-Constitution and the 1-27 Area Coach of the Year Award from the Athens newspaper. 1-28 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF 1-29 REPRESENTATIVES that the members of this body commend the 1-30 Elbert County Blue Devils high school football team and 1-31 Coach T. S. McFarrin for their fine athletic achievement in 1-32 winning the 1995 AA state football championship and wish 1-33 them every success in the 1996 season and invite them to 1-34 appear before this body at a time to be set by the Speaker 1-35 of the House of Representatives. -1- (Index) LC 24 0272 2- 1 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of 2- 2 Representatives is authorized and directed to transmit 2- 3 appropriate copies of this resolution to the Elbert County 2- 4 Blue Devils high school football team and Coach T. S. 2- 5 McFarrin.

GHSFHA data is made available under the Open Database License. Under this license, you are free To Share, To Create, and To Adapt this data, as long as you Attribute, Share-Alike, and Keep open. For more details please refer to the license and the Plain Language Summary.