Click here to view an article on the evolution of the state champion.

Cairo - 1946  State Champion Class B  -

CLASS B - Cairo (11-1)
Coach: Jeff West (first year)

     The Syrupmakers captured the Class B title with a 40-19 win over NGFA champion Rockmart at
Albany. Cairo had a strong passing attack using the combination of Lewis Carr to Bob Lashley. Roy Robertson was the main ground gainer and scorer. The Syrupmakers defeated all regular season opponents except Tifton, and then avenged that loss 40-0 in the SGFA final.

1946 (11-1-0) Coach Jeff West
Cairo 33 Camilla 13 (Sept. 13 @ Home)
Cairo 29 Americus 0 (Sept. 20 @ Home)
Cairo 21 Valdosta 6 (Sept. 27 @ Home)
Cairo 20 Thomasville 0 (Oct. 4 @ Home)
Cairo 31 Quincy, FL 13 (Oct. 11 @ Home)
Cairo 0 Tifton 13 (Oct. 18, Away)
Cairo 40 Pelham 0 (Oct. 25 @ Home)
Cairo 29 Moultrie 12 (Nov. 1, Away)
Cairo 41 Bainbridge 6 (Nov. 8, Away)
Cairo 33 Jesup 12 (Nov. 22, Away)
SGFA Championship
Cairo 40 Tifton 0 (Dec. 6, N-Moultrie)
State Championship
Cairo 40 Rockmart 19 (Dec. 13, N-Albany)

Story courtesy of Joe Crine, Bainbridge Post-Searchlight

Ed “Sonny” White of Bainbridge, the senior starting left halfback on the Cairo High School Syrupmakers 1946 State Class B championship football team and his teammates were inducted into the Grady County Sports Hall of Fame last Saturday night (March 12, 2011).

The owner of White’s TV Sales and Service in Bainbridge for many years, White attended the Hall of Fame banquet at the Cairo Cultural Center along with teammates Tom Hopkins, who played left guard, Jack Drew, who played end, Julian Hudson, who played center, George Hurst, who played quarterback, and Bob Lashley, who played end.

The 1946 championship was the first of three state football championships the Syrupmakers have won.

Cairo won State Class AAA championships under coach Ralph Jones in 1990 and coach Tom Fallaw in 2008.

Jones, a former Syrupmakers quarterback, Bainbridge High School Bearcats head football coach and principal, Decatur County School Superintendent and himself a member of the Grady County Sports Hall of Fame, led the Bearcats to the 1982 State Class AAA football championship, before returning home and leading the Syrupmakers to the 1990 State Class AAA football championship.

White has many fond memories of that 1946 championship season.

“The 1946 Syrupmakers were a unique squad,” he said.

“We had 27 players and one coach, Jeff West. At the beginning of the season, I think everybody on the team felt this would be our year,” White said. “We started with a bang, winning the first five games and that included victories over Americus, Valdosta and Thomasville.”

But then, to the dismay of the coach, fans and team, the Syrupmakers lost 13-0 to Tifton, which ironically Cairo would later play again for the South Georgia championship.

“We came back and won the next four games. Then since Bainbridge and Tifton had the best records, we were chosen to play each other again, this time in Moultrie, for the South Georgia championship,” White said. “This time we beat Tifton 40-0 and earned the right to face North Georgia champion Rockmart High School in Albany for the state championship.

Cairo beat Rockmart 40-19 for the state championship before a crowd of 7,200 fans, which was the largest crowd to witness a state championship game to that point, White said.

He said there was nothing like being a senior at Cairo High School and playing on a state championship Syrupmakers football team.

“Out of all the things I’ve done, being a member of that state championship football team in Cairo in 1946 is one of the greatest highlights of my life,” he said.


GHSFHA data is made available under the Open Database License. Under this license, you are free To Share, To Create, and To Adapt this data, as long as you Attribute, Share-Alike, and Keep open. For more details please refer to the license and the Plain Language Summary.